DIY Crayon Art

I’m sure many of you are addicted to Pinterest. Like me.
So. I’m sure You’ve guessed that I like art. I like making things. Whether its actually art, a creation, or laundry soap. I have to be creating something or I start going insane. Just ask my husband. So I’ll actually be posting some things that I have done in the not so distant past. Like 3 months ago, I guess.
SO! 1 of many! Crayon art!
A post of a really cool looking rainbow suggested itself on my Pinterest feed a few weeks ago. I looked at it and thought “OMG! I’ve gotta make this happen.” So I spent the next few hours googling and searching through Pinterest for other really cool designs. BTW, I bought a box of 96 Crayola crayons at HobbyLobby and used one of their 40% coupons for about $4. I would also suggest buying a pack of all white crayons on eBay or something. Only because as you start making these, you will find you want some colors to be just a bit lighter.
You can accomplish this by breaking a piece of the white crayon and placing it wherever it is that you want to to start running lighter. When I get a picture, I will post it.
Lets just say, the first one turned out like crap:
 DSC_0105
The second one however turned out great:
 DSC_0068 2
And the third I just did:
 DSC_0121
Yes. I’m a Seahawks Fan. And we won 26 – 0 this afternoon.
Happy Halloween!!!!
DSC_0120
Things you will need:
  • Crayons (I bought a 96 pack from HobbyLobby for $4, and during back to school season I got 24 packs at Walmart for $0.50.)
  • Canvas or Virginia Board (use a piece bigger than 8×10)
  • Heat gun. No blow dryer. They don’t work.
  • Hot glue gun to glue the crayons on.
  • Newspaper to cover your work space.

DSC_0114

Step one:

Cover work area with newspaper.

Step two:

Arrange your crayons in the pattern you want displayed on your canvas or pumpkin; in a rainbow, or alternating, or whatever.

Step three:

Glue the crayons on to the canvas in the arrange you decided.

DSC_0067 3(1)

Step four:

Take the heat gun on the low setting, and start moving it across the crayons. Don’t hold too closely because you will burn your hand. Hold far enough back to start melting the crayons. Depending on how you want it to turn out, you might have to tilt your canvas to reach your desired effect.

DSC_0118

Step five:

Lay on flat surface to dry. When dry, remove any stickers you placed on the canvas to create your design.

DSC_0121[1]

A few tips I leaned the hard way: 
  • Use canvas that is bigger than an 8×10. This is so that the crayons can be glued or taped on the canvas, and not a piece of cardboard you are trying to keep attached.
  • Use a heat gun, not a blow dryer. You’ll thank me later.
  • COVER. Cover your work space with double thick newspaper (two layers). You can scrape dried crayon wax off most hard surfaces. Better safe than sorry.12033567_977287102329222_1373035414_n

If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

